Sony Interactive Entertainment has officially announced that PlayStation Network users can change their PSN IDs starting today.
PSN users can change their PSN IDs via browser or PS4. There are no restrictions to the number of times you can change your online ID, however, only the first change will be free. Any changes after the first one will cost $9.99/£7.99/€9.99 for regular users, and $4.99/£3.99/€4.99 for PlayStation Plus members.
Sony also confirmed that you won't lose your old ID, and can revert back to it anytime you want. In addition, when changing your online ID, you’ll have the option to display your old ID next to your new ID in your Profile for 30 days. This will make it easier for your friends to notice your ID change.
Sony also listed some of the issues you may experience with this new feature:
- Your previous Online ID may remain visible to you and other players in some areas.
- You may lose progress within games, including game saved data, leaderboard data, and progress towards Trophies.
- Parts of your game and applications may not function properly both online and offline.
- You may lose access to content (including paid-for content) that you may have acquired for your games including content like add-ons and virtual currency.
You can check the link below to find out more details about the PSN Online ID change and how it works.
Source: PlayStation Blog